Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

This is Me in ’83 – Halloween

Have I mentioned that in 1983, I was really, really into reading my Dungeons & Dragons stuff? 

Inspired by that source material, I cobbled together my own fantasy adventurer’s costume for Halloween:

No parental assistance required: Sweat pants and a sweatshirt that looks like I removed the collar for that deep-V look that’s all the rage among dragon-slayers; cape from an old…bedspread, maybe? I can remember the material was heavy, but also kind of clingy and stretchy; tunic-vest-thing that I cut and stitched together myself out of some burlap-type cloth mom had around; and a belt that I probably wore every other day of the year, too.

The sword? A yardstick covered in aluminum foil, of course. Which means it stands to reason – as if it’s not completely clear already – that yes, I am in fact wearing a foil hat. (Technically, my helm was a white knit hat covered in foil. Still: FOIL HAT.)

And now that “foil” sounds funny, I’ll move on.

If I remember correctly, my fellow D&D wannabe Mike S. wore a pretty slick elf ranger costume he and his mom had made.

More than once, I think, Mike and I took advantage of the trick-or-treat scheduling differences between the village of Hartville itself – where he lived – and Lake Township: One usually scheduled it on Halloween proper, while the other set it on the closest preceding weekend night, or something like that, making it possible for us to hit both of our neighborhoods. I seem to think we also really liked going out in the early hours of trick-or-treat, dropping off our candy haul at home, and then going back out after dark to roam the neighborhood and try to scare the kids we knew.

Other bits and pieces nicely caught up in this photo: The Halloween decorations – store-bought and handmade alike – that my mom put out every year; the long-gone brick fireplace and wood paneling of our family room; the wooden set of coasters in their little boxy holder up there on the mantle (these go back practically to the beginning of my memory).

For all the dorkiness captured in this picture – of me, that is; nothing against our family decor – I remain oddly proud of this costume, since I made the whole thing myself.

Plus: Foil hat.

October 28, 2013 - Posted by | 1980s, geek, Ohio, photos | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. That is an amazing foil hat. I remember dressing up as Galadriel before the LOTR movies came out and having to explain that I wasn’t a bride – I was an elven queen of Middle Earth.

    Comment by theadventuresofbeka | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks, Beka. And Galadriel’s an awfully ambitious costume – that’s impressive.

      Comment by jrbooth | October 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. You are my Hero! +1 to all rolls tomorrow night!

    Comment by Tom Allman | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m holding you to that, Tom.

      Comment by jrbooth | October 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

