Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

Dad and me and Mad

This may be my favorite picture of me and my dad:

I had placed this sometime around 1973, but thanks to the incredible archive at Doug Gilford’s Mad Cover Site, I’ve discovered it’s got to be at least early 1975 which would make me 4 years old. I’m reading the March issue, Dad’s got Super Special #14, and the December ’74 issue is there in the foreground.

I can remember that bedspread and its texture; and the feel and weight of those dark yellow plastic plates that appear to have some bologna sandwiches on them; and the brown plastic bowl, too.

It looks like I’ve got a kids’ book at lower right, but I’d bet I’ve set it aside in favor of Spy vs. Spy. 

October 29, 2013 - Posted by | 1970s, Family history, Ohio, photos | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. probably p & j sandwiches, his favorite thing to eat before bed. He had worked 11pm to 7:30 am.

    Comment by Mom | October 30, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

