Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

A Walk in the Woods

For various reasons (none of them really good ones), I haven’t been running lately. I felt the need to get into the woods at Quail Hollow today, though, so I put on some boots and warm clothes and went for a 2-mile hike.

It was sunny and in the mid-30s, with no wind. Really nice day to be out there.

It’s a little strange going out and walking on the trails I’m used to running, and it’s a completely different experience in the woods this time of year compared with summer: The sun reaches deeper pockets, with no leaves overhead – with the exception of the pine stands – and you can see further off the trails.

I made a few stops along this stream, because it was running high compared to summer, and I liked the way it looked and sounded.

Found a culvert, kind of oddly placed, since it’s not on any sort of trail.

And discovered that the Woodland Swamp Trail has had an eventful fall:

Then there was this weird thing. I thought it was a big blob of sap at first – it was probably 4-5 inches long – but it was squishy, like a giant rotted grape.

I also found a small, empty turtle shell.

I was out in the woods for a little more than an hour, and felt like maybe I’d needed it more than I realized.

 

December 7, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

