Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

International TableTop Day 2015: What We Played

Celebrated International TableTop Day with nine straight jam-packed hours of gaming, graciously hosted by my friend Tom. So much fun. Here’s what we played:

Started the day learning TakenokoI’d been hearing good things about this one for awhile, and it was pretty easy to pick up, and a lot of fun.

Takenoko

Followed up with two brief Mars Attacks: The Dice Game contests –

MarsAttacks

and head-to-head Star Wars Trivial Pursuit(Classic trilogy, of course.)

SWTriv

Then Munchkin Loot Letter.

LootLetter

And then our game crowd grew, so we played a tremendously fun game of Cockroach Poker (another first for me) –

CockroachPoker

– and an 8-person game of Tsuro that ended in a two-dragon tie. (I was the last dragon to actually lose.)

Tsuro

Even more folks showed up, so we split the party into three tables. I introduced a couple friends to Roll For It (which we played twice) –

RollForIt

– and then Zombie Dicewhich we played once with the standard rules, and once with the School Bus expansion.

ZombieDice

I wrapped up my day with back-to-back games of Betrayal at House on the Hillwhich I’d never played before, and really enjoyed. The explorers triumphed over the betrayer both times, although my character died along the way in the second game.

Betrayal

So I learned three new games, played several that I don’t get to tackle very often, and spent a full day reveling with friends in dice, luck, strategy, and fun. It was almost like a mini-Gen Con – including the “Hey-it’s-almost-nine-o’clock-and-I-never-ate-dinner” thing. Not complaining in the least.

April 12, 2015 - Posted by | Games, geek | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Yeah, It was awesome. Doug and I played Takenoko for the first time as well, and it was pretty fun! None of us had played bug poker before, but it was hilarious! We left before you guys played Zombie Dice but that’s one of my favorite games! It was really nice seeing you and playing with you guys again!

    Comment by ganymeder | April 12, 2015 | Reply

    • So much fun seeing you again, and I’m glad we got to do some gaming together! I think the Zombie Dice game was going on while you were learning Takenoko. (I’d like to try that one again with more than 2 people. I really liked it.)

      Comment by jrbooth | April 13, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

