Cornfield Meet

Things collide here.

The Most Important Person in the Whole Wide World

One of my favorite things about living in the future?

Our access to the past.

About three seconds of the opening theme to this Saturday morning PSA wandered through my head five minutes ago, and POOF! Here it is:

What’s funny to me is that of the cartoon segments, I only remembered the visuals, not the music and lyrics. But the opening theme and the live action shots and even the title font all bubbled up from the recesses of my brain as soon as I saw that striped cup at the birthday party. The closing animation with the birds and that little furry guy on the rope? Classic.

February 20, 2010 - Posted by | 1980s, eighties, geek, Television | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Holy crap, man. I don’t remember the cartoon parts at all, but the opening and closing visuals and theme music is permanently lodged in there. Thanks for digging this up!

    Comment by AB | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. I recall seeing this a few times in 73 or 74. Mostly my recall kicks in on the closing credits for some reason. Anyway, what a trip! For longer-form animation in this vein try “Really Rosie” and “The Point”. Although sometimes less is truly more. Thanks John!

    Comment by ratherchildish | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Was this part of the Most Important Person series? This cartoon has been haunting me for years – a girl goes to sleep, then it shows the sky and turns into a song playing while images scroll from left to right, then I think it reversed and went from right to left – each image was a square with a different animated image inside it, each scrolling across the screen. Anyone have any ideas?

    Comment by SG | October 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment